Cutting ties past…


Saturday night was my old housemates housewarming party. A small group of us gathered around a table in her bohemian themed backyard heralded the opening of the zen garden and one of the most original and beautiful ideas for a backyard I have ever seen, a mural that runs along the fence, decorated with fairy lights it truly is a sight to behold.

The Zen garden was adorned with glitter making the rocks sparkle in the moonlight while we sipped our sangrea and devoured chicken tandoori sticks with yoghurt (or was it sour cream?) dipping sauce. The entire evening was fabulous, one of our scottish friends who we haven’t seen in over a year arrived at the party, his usual look rocking dread locks that hung halfway down his shoulders where now nowhere to be seen. Instead a short messy look with no locks to be seen.

As our shock subsided and the drinks continued flowing he told us of the experience of chopping off seven years of dread locks. The hairdressers assistant washed his hair three times, to have someone wash your hair properly and intensely after years of collecting dirt and grime I could not help but think of this in relation to our emotions. Why don’t we ever do a wash out of our emotions?

Sunday was recovery day on the recliner again watching Men In Trees an episode showed Anne Heche writing down all the things she wanted to change, writing them on a rock and carrying the rocks to the top of a mountain and throwing them off. This symbolic gesture stood out to me and I decided this will be the final challenge of the “Pray” phase of this rejuvination. On the 31st of July 2011 I will do the same and trek through Glenrock to throw my problems off a cliff and end the “Pray” period. I have till then to decide exactly what I am going to put on these rocks and how the hell I am going to trek through a bush carrying them.

4 thoughts on “Cutting ties past…

  1. I was recommended this web site via my cousin. I’m not certain whether or not this put up is written through him as nobody else recognise such exact about my difficulty. You’re amazing! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

