Nostalgia & Negotiations. . .


Tonight my mother came over for dinner, something that we try to do all the time but unfortunately due to time constraints and uni commitments it does not happen as often as we would like. When she came through the door she had a pile of papers to give me. Certificates, Awards and a short story I had written when I was in school. Looking through these certificates and books I am reminded of the horrible time I had in high school. Going to a christian school, loving the Spice Girls and confused about your sexuality is never a good mix. While I’m sure I wasn’t the only one going through a hard time it’s hard not to look back and be happy that I progressed. That there is a whole wide world outside of that bubble that doesn’t judge. Watching Glee just reminds me so much of my high school experience, yes you guessed it I was Kurt but the only difference is I didn’t have a support network. I was completely alone.  Whilst rifling through the certificates I could not wait to get my hands on the story and read something I had produced when I was 14. A concept I find mind boggling, I do not even remember being that young or much about my school, so I thought I would post the story as a homage to my past. It will soon be let go…everything will change and the past will finally be behind me.

TOO MUCH

We finally made it! Us! The Propellerheads! We were singing our hip new song and everyone loved it! It was a national success! We finally agreed to do a live performance on Saturday. We have 3 days left. This week was going to be full of rehearsals.

We all piled into the bus we had borrowed from the Spice Girls and set off for rehearsals. After a hard day’s word we all trudged home and slept.

The next day when I arose from my slumber at 9am we were busied into the kitchen for a 5 minute breakfast and guess what? MORE REHEARSALS! It was really starting to bug me! All day, every day REHEARSALS! I was about to crack! Fame is such a fickle thing! There was no way out! I had to give in. I silently crept to my room, the floorboards creaked like werewolf’s with empty stomachs, I fetched my gun from underneath my mattress and slowly rested it on my temple. Slowly but surely I pulled the trigger.

I woke up covered in a sea of sticky, smelly sweat. My t-shirt was drenched and my whole body was shaking. At least it was only a nightmare. I slowly dozed off…it was only 4 a.m a couple of hours of sleep would go down well.

A couple of hours later I really woke up and the bus picked me up outside my house and I boarded on. All the band where seated round a table, looking very downcast.

“What’s wrong” I asked them.

“This” Soren answered and lifted a paper up right in front of my nose. “We made the front page…” another guy replied.

I quickly grabbed the paper from Soren and read the article…

PROPELLERHEADS LIVE SHOW SET TO SHOCK AND FLOP!’

“Oh no! Backlash has started” I yelled in surprise.

“What are we going to do?” Soren asked me.

“I have no idea…keep rehearsing?” I suggested.

“Yeah! and work twice as hard and prove them wrong!”

“Yeah” everyone echoed.

It was our only choice. The next day we where on our bus taking it easy when all of a sudden my blue mobile phone rang. “Hello?” I enquired.

“Propellorheads show set to shock and flop!”

“I beg your pardon?” I yelled into the phone.

“Propellorheads show set to shock and flop!” she repeated.

“What? Who is this?” I asked.

“You are talking to the tabloid tormenter!” She answered me.

“Just what do you think you are doing” I demanded.

“My job!” she snapped

“And that is…”

“None of your business! Now stop fooling around. Look under the front compartment of the bus” She instructed me. I slowly lifted the hatch and found…a deadly bomb.

“AAAAAAHHHH!” I yelled/

All the other guys came rushing over.

“AAAAHHHHH!” echoed though the bus.

When I picked the phone back up from the place where I’d dropped it the girl was laughing.

“So you think it’s funny do you?” I forced upon her.

“No…just amusing. I’ll just warn you this is not a game! If you above 60 km per hour the bomb will blow. If you try to get anyone off the bus…I will detonate the bomb and there is just one more thing…” She was too short I cut her off.

“Why are you doing this?” I yelled.

“Let’s just say we don’t want you getting more famous than us” She replied.

“Look out the back window” she instructed me.

“See that car approaching fast…” she told me

“Yes I do” I replied

“That’s our handyman. He is going to try to drive you off the road and just remember no going above 60 of you’ll lose your head!” she cackled into the phone.

“Ok guys we have to act now! Let’s move, move, move. Here’s the plan.”

The car was getting closer and closer in the rear view mirror…then the mobile phone rang again.

“What” I yelled.

“Take this!” the familiar voice yelled.

The car veered right up behind us and gave us a big push which toppled everyone over. We kept on going on 55 kms. No faster, No slower. Sydney Harbour Bridge came into sight and it was opening up…what where we supposed to do?

Quickly I instructed Dennis the driver to keep us on 60 and stay here but still head for the bridge. I gathered the other guys in to a circle and told them this.

“We don’t have much time. The bridge is going up.”

“Oh my gosh I don’t believe it!” Soren yelled.

My phone rang again.

“Are you crazy enough to jump the bridge?” the female voice yelled which then turned into an outburst of laugher.

“Are we?” Soren asked me softly.

“Yes we are!” I replied.

“Dennis…full speed ahead” I instructed him.

We had just come onto the bridge and where starting to cross it. Cars were honking there horns angrily at us and the bridge still kept on rising. What where we going to do? We had to get off the bus!

As quick as lightning we all bust out onto the sun roof and looked for a way off. We glanced behind us and we saw in the car not so far away. Geri with the bomb detonator in her hand. How could they? After all we did for them! Geri was about the push the button when Dennis slammed on the brakes and we all fell forward and back into the bus.

“AAAAAHHHHH!!” everyone cried out in pain.

“Sorry! Had to stop for a dog.” Dennis told us.

In the rear vision mirror Geri’s car was getting closer and closer and the bridge was only inches away. We where sitting on 60 and had to stop. We where on the edge of the bridge…we where only inches away from falling off…Geri’s car gave us a nudge and the bus plunged deep down into the ocean.

“Oh you’re awake! You’ve been in a coma for two months. You’re family is ready to see you now, are you up to it?” A Doctor in a white uniform asked me.

By Alaisdair Leith 1998

One thought on “Nostalgia & Negotiations. . .

Leave a Reply

