Passions


Today I went to the Super Nova pop culture expo in Sydney with a couple of friends. I honestly thought it was going to be some small crappy thing that would not be that exciting but the trip to Sydney was enough to convince me to go.

After arriving later than expected due to navigational errors (hahahaha) we made our way through the sea of people and through the front doors. All around us people where dressed up in amazing costumes of their favourite characters from Batman, Superman, Spiderman, Bayonetta, Assassins Creed, Dr Who, Iron Man and the level of detail was unlike anything I had seen before. Normally people would see this and be saying the word “nerds” all day and when I thought about it normally I would to. Today was different I did not see a bunch of nerds I saw people with a passion, who love these characters, who love reading books, watching movies, reading comics, playing games and interacting with the thing that makes them happy. A few high profile authors where there and the opportunity to discuss writing and their process was a privilege. It really re-ignited my passion for writing.

I do love writing and I have been making flimsy excuses as to why I cannot do it as much but today really helped me see that I am on the right track and anything that you are passionate about and want to succeed at takes time, patience and diligence. So I want to encourage you this week whatever your passion is start getting serious about it, put yourself in other places where you have like-minded people who share it and watch it nurture and grow.

Hope you are all having a good weekend! Below is a picture of myself meeting one of my TV idols Hex from ABC1’s Good Game

Leave a Reply

