The late twenties crisis


You may recall my last post about “Forgiveness” and the dinner where many things where discussed. One of those things was called “The Late Twenties Crisis” my group of friends is reaching the late twenties phase of our lives and I think we can all agree we all had no idea that we would be in this place doing these things at this time. Some of us had plans to be rock stars touring the world and recording, some high powered lawyers, others writers with published books and a column (2 guesses who that is!) while these plans for our lives where initiated for whatever reason they have stalled and we suddenly find ourselves on the brink of turning 30 and not being where we want to be when this happens.

It seems a cosmic collision of these feelings swirled within all of us and made our friendships crazy. My friend put it best when he said “We are about to reach our late twenties and our lives are crazy. Like when we turned teenagers we had to re-define who we are and now we get to do it all over again.” I had never really thought about this before and it was so enlightening to hear I wasn’t the only person who felt like this.

The more I thought about this notion the more I have come to believe that this is true. Speaking for myself I believed by this stage in my life I would have several published books, my own column in a newspaper, living in a capital city with an amazing life partner who would love and support me. Instead I am still getting my degree, still working on my first book, I am terminally single and not living where I want to be. I think it’s the mixture of these feelings of having to be a certain person by the time you reach 30 that has made me go a little nuts sometimes. When it comes down to it we can only be who we are at this stage in our lives, while it is good to want more from our lives we can only strive to do better and eventually reach our goal for ourselves.

So here is to turning 30 (still a couple of years away for me yet!) I have decided for my 30th I will be in Japan with my family having a great time and celebrating my graduation and my degree.

Leave a Reply

