Freedom


This morning I went to the farmers markets as I always do every Sunday with my good friend. We gorge ourselves on fresh eggs with bacon and roasted coffee that is too amazing for words.

A vendor was selling authentic fisherman’s pants from Thailand and went into great detail about the stitching and the fabric, he told us that it takes one thai family a whole year to make the fabric and put the whole thing together. A concept that in these times of instant everything seems like it is stuck in the past. He went on to say that this family had taken the biggest risk of their lives. They had taken ALL their life savings and investments and used it to learn English and to purchase a computer. When you think about it buying a computer for us is not a life changing decision, it is one people make in this country every day without a second thought. It is a luxury, some would argue necessity and it’s something that we take for granted. As he proceeded to tell us about this family and what it means for their future I couldn’t help but think about the impact this had on me, especially lately when I have been whining and groaning about my life and everything in it. What have I really given up for the benefit of my future?

We are so lucky to live in a world with so many freedoms and luxuries that we take for granted but other people would literally have to gamble their future on and while we can dwell on being lucky and privileged is there anything that we can actually do about it?  My housemate just started sponsoring a World Vision child and I think back to all the stories of the money going to the country and not to the child and this organisation run by Christians literally force the children to become christians or they won’t receive any benefit from their sponsor. Looking back I know these stories are probably not true and I pray they are not, yet giving something of ourselves can make a big impact on someone else’s life. I am not suggesting that everyone goes out and gives all their money away or goes overseas making big dramatic, life changing decisions that are not properly thought through and evaluated, I am instead challenging you to think about something that is holding you back from your future, from your potential that will unlock your future. For myself I know what this thing is and it is such a hard thing to give up, I have tried before but no matter how hard I try I always seem to come back to it. So I am making more of a conscious effort to change this in my future.

2 thoughts on “Freedom

Leave a Reply

