Share Your Christmas


Christmas is the time for giving and sharing with our family and friends and while I do not want to go on a lecture or rant about the importance of giving I have chosen instead to share about what giving can do and the impact it can make in someone else’s life. For those of us reading this that live in Australia we are definitely one of the luckiest countries and are born into privilege and wealth, while our pockets may not be spilling with money and riches we have good health care, government assistance, food, clothing and shelter. In this man made society we have created were this is not enough and we feel like we need more and more all the time to be happy it is extremely important to look to others who do not have the same things that we take for granted.

The Australian government have shown their ignorance with asylum seekers who are literally fleeing for their lives with nowhere else to go so what do we do? Lock them up and brand it a political and border security issue, it is hard to sit back and let this happen when it is clear that this is a humanitarian issue. These people have lost their homes, are literally fighting for their life on a dangerous boat journey where people are dying on the voyage and we cannot show them compassion?

Personally this year I have given more money, more time and more energy to other people than I have to myself and while it has taken it’s toll both financially and emotionally sometime I have come to see the fruit of my sacrifice. The joy in an anthers face, the fulfilment and enrichment of their quality of life is the best gift of all and is something that I will continue to do and to talk about. As Westerners we are born complainers, it is easy to whinge when you have to wait in line 10 minutes are the grocery store, when a struggling student waiter gets your food order wrong and you feel the need to yell at them and complain. It is time we stopped being complainers and starting doing something about the problems of those who are in real need and focus our energy on that.

Last year for Japan was absolutely horrific with the earthquake and tsunami leaving thousands of children’s without homes, friends and family. Among these were the lost possessions and toys. Up and down the Northern coast of Japan are hundreds of communities that lost everything and are still in great need of assistance. A website has been formed titled “Share Your Christmas” and one of my relatives who lives in Japan was kind enough to share it today. It is a cause that is near and dear to my heart as I have family there and I will be participating in this amazing project. The idea is that you send one of your presents to a child in Japan, it is simple and easy to do.

All you need to do is send your gift to

Share your Christmas,

c/o Human Arts Experience

Katsuragi Nesaki 45-1

Tsukuba, Ibaraki 305-0824

Japan

With simply your first name and age on the gift and it will be donated to a child and family in need. It is easy this time of year to get caught up in gifts, food and over-indulgence but this year for the first time in my life I am not giving into this culture and supporting a cause that is helping other people. I encourage you to check out the website for “Share Your Christmas” which I will post below and read the testimonials and the story of how this cause began.

http://www.shareyourchristmas.org/

 

 

4 thoughts on “Share Your Christmas

  1. Great post. I just stumbled upon your blog and wanted to say that I have really enjoyed browsing your blog posts. In any case I’ll be subscribing to your feed and I hope you write again soon!

  2. You really make it appear so easy together with your along with your presentation however I in finding this topic to be really something which I think I would never nderstand. It kind of feels too complex and extremely wide for me. I am taking a look forward for your next publish, I will try to get the grasp of it!

Leave a Reply

