Happy New Year


So it is that time after the hustle and bustle of Christmas, the time for the parents to get out there and party, New Years Eve. After a string of bad new years eve house parties and disappointments I am doing something completely the opposite this year. I am spending NYE with some close friends for a lovely quiet dinner and then getting up early and going to the beach for first sunrise with croissants and alcohol free champagne. By that I mean the champagne has no alcohol in it, not free alcohol, I am tired of living my life in a drunken, hungover haze going from weekend to weekend with more booze and more hangovers and just doing the same thing over and over. I am so tired of it and the toll it is taking on my body and affecting other areas of my life. 2012 is my year of no alcohol, one of my friends did it in 2011 and she was a bigger booze hound than what I ever was and she survived and is fitter and feels all the more better for it both physically and mentally. I will not be looking down on people who do drink in 2012 or lecturing on the effects of binge drinking because both you and I already know what they are and the dangers that come with it.

In addition to this blog I have also joined the “Hello Sunday Morning” community. Started by an Australian who bravely did a year sober and blogged about it and has now started his own website and support community for people who want to do the same. It is an amazing thing and I am excited to have a support network that understand my goals and will be able to read testimonials.

My friend Ryan wrote an extremely insightful post about New Years Resolutions and how no-one ever sticks to them and they come off as kind of a game but that is it in the end. In 2012 he has set SMART goals to achieve what he wants, in November last year I decided to start this challenge and while there have been patches of getting off the track I find myself still going on with this challenge and realising that I have learnt so much in just one year and will continue to do the same in 2012.

Wherever you are tonight and whatever you are doing I really do hope and pray that you have a great one, a fun one surrounded by friends and family. It has been an amazing 2011 full of challenges and obstacles but I am looking forward to 2012 and what hope and significance the change of a year can bring.

Leave a Reply

