Getting cool at the public pool


For those international readers today temperatures rose in Australia to be the highest in recorded history. Locally it reached 42 degreed (Celsius) so I spent the majority of my day indoors, washing my car and holding off on the air conditioner as long as I could. Even now as I am typing this at 9:30pm it’s still 35 degrees!

My recent Christmas and new year break allowed me to spend time with people whose opinion I regard highly and who can be completely honest with me. It can be confronting but it is what I need at times, and these people, one in particular my aunty who resides in Hammamatsu in Japan is one of the most inspiring and incredible woman I have ever met.

We chatted at lengths about my recent job loss, my increased weight gain and addiction to material possessions which I am ashamed to say has spiraled out of control. I was really upset about losing my job and how I felt like a real chapter of my life is over. The great thing is I am no longer working for a greedy health insurance company sticking the life out of its employees and ripping off their customers. I have come to the realisation that I have a pattern, I have tried for so many years to fit into the life of the 9-5 job, the house , the car, living off credit and keeping up with the times. I tried to do this with my ex and failed miserably, I tried to do it by myself and failed miserably so as my inspiring aunt pointed out why am I still trying to fit in with this lifestyle?

Now let me be clear there is nothing wrong with this lifestyle, if it works for you that’s great and I’m happy for you, but I am not one of those, I am a creative type who needs room to breathe, I am trying to do a degree that encourages hype and sensationalizing things that really don’t need to be done. So I asked myself what am I doing? Why am I doing this? Do i need this seemingly useless degree?

I want to write things that encourage and inspire people, I want to take people on journeys to places they have never been and experience new things. I want to go out and see the world and wrote amazing things, but I cant do that if i am sitting on my ass expecting everything to come to me.

Where am I going with this? Glad you asked my aunty told me about all of the amazing things she did when she went through a similar crisis at a similar age. She sold most of her things and went as far north as she could, worked her way around Queensland at resorts and tour guides helping people and finding out just exactly who she was. It was through this that led her to journeys to India and Japan to meet her Japanese husband pursue a degree and job in art in one of the most beautiful countries in the world. I don’t want to follow this same path but the nature of it appeals to me on so many levels.

Many afternoon walks and encouragement from my aunty while I threw every excuse under the sun I could, I finally succumbed to the fact that I have to do a similar thing in my life. So I am currently planning my departure from Newcastle and transition to a different life. My plan is to head to Brisbane first spend some time with my family there and head to the Whitsundays and spend some time in paradise. Working on a resort in a place of beauty and I can get a lot of writing done and meet new people.

A big part of my journey is getting my body back. The anti-depressants made me stack on the weight (another fact that everyone loved pointing out over Christmas) so with the help of my best friend I am on a mission to get my body back. Increasing exercise a lot, eating better than I have been and leaving my house a lot more will help move this along. I am already feeling the changes 2 weeks in.

Today we abandoned our regular hour and a half walk for a 2 hour swim at the local pool. It has been a while since I have been swimming, as I descended down the stairs of the side and into the water I could feel my body sinking to the bottom. What was wrong with me? I used to be able to swim and float perfectly what had happened?

As my body finally supported itself in the water I started to relax and actually enjoy myself. I used to laugh at crazy fit gym freaks who said that exercise makes you happy, but this time I actually agreed and felt alot better about myself than I have in a long time.

I am already writing a lot more this year and I am really pleased with what is coming out of my writings. I hope you all had a great Christmas and new year.

Leave a Reply

